SCMA Education Foundation's 

Directors’ Award Recipients


About the Award

The SCMA Education Foundation’s Directors’ Award was established in 2014 to recognize the contributions of educators to mediator education and training, as well as their contributions to international peacebuilding by working with students all over the world. The recipients of the award are among the leaders in mediation education. It has been the Foundation’s privilege to call attention to these educators by presenting this annual award.

Karen Crowley

Karen Crowley-Marks receives 2018 Director’s Award at SCMA Fall Conference Dinner November 2, 2018 for her commitment to Peer Mediation at University High School in Los Angeles.

It all started in 2007 when Principal Elois McGhee had a vision to start a peer mediation program at Uni High School and appointed Karen to start it. Karen had no knowledge of peer mediation, but took the challenge to implement the program with six students. 

Eleven years later, peer mediation has changed the climate at Uni High. It has increased student communication, decreased the suspension rate, and developed positive relationships on campus - "a win, win situation" in her words. The disputants are able to voice their concerns in a non-threatening, safe, confidential, and neutral environment. Once their conflict is resolved, students can focus on school and learning. The mediators, through extensive training and practice, build confidence, increased self-esteem, leadership skills, and develop a skill set that they will utilize long after high school.

Since 2007, nearly 400 students have been successfully trained as Peer Mediators. University High School is unique in that it is the only LAUSD high school on the Westside that offers such a program. 

Karen’s strength was the ability to integrate Peer Mediation skills with Restorative Justice techniques.

In 2015, Karen was awarded the Educational Leadership Award from the Asian Pacific American Dispute Resolution Center (APADRC). In May, 2018, she was honored at the Galen Center by the Kids Managing Conflict foundation (KMC) for her 11 years of Peer Mediation service. Over the past 10 years, she has served on several Peer Mediation panels and was a guest speaker at the KMC symposium in April 2018. Most of all, Karen feels none of this could have been accomplished without the support and recognition of agencies such as the Southern California Mediation Association, the Western Justice Center, APADRC, and the Kids Managing Conflict foundation. For this she is eternally grateful.  


Karen Crowley

2017-Marco Turk 

Professor Turk is Emeritus Professor and Director of the Negotiation, Conflict Resolution and Peacebuilding program at CSU Dominguez Hills and an adjunct professor of law at the Straus Institute for Dispute Resolution, Pepperdine University School of Law. He has a long history in California Alternative Dispute Resolution with several awards acknowledging his service to the field and is recognized internationally for his work as a peacebuilder, educator and trainer dealing with ethnic conflict.

Prof. Turk is a Fulbright Senior Scholar in Conflict Resolution and worked on the island of Cyprus (1997-1999), making seven return trips to continue his peacebuilding work there He has also conducted programs for Cypriots in the USA through the U.S. State Department and the Fred J. Hansen Institute for World Peace at San Diego State University.

Prof Turk receives this award for Exemplary Contributions to Mediator Education.

A. Marco Turk

2016-Dr. John Haas

Dr. John Haas is a professor of History at Cerritos College and the Founder and Director of the Global Consortium for Sustainable Peace, a network of global partners that share a common goal of bridging cultural gaps in our worlds and promoting peace. The GCSP broadcasts live to over 2.1 million college students throughout California and interactively shown live to partner schools, educators, students, and institutions across the globe.

Dr. Haas has received numerous accolades, including a commendation from the United States Congress, recognizing his work in promoting global peace, education and understanding. He has lectured at universities and symposia around the world, and has facilitated discussions with leaders in education, conflict resolution, cultural studies and history. Dr. Haas was the recipient of the “Most Outstanding Faculty Award” from Cerritos College in 2007.

Dr. Haas received this award for Contributions to Student Peacebuilding Internationally.

Dr. John Haas

2015-Mary B. Culbert

Mary B. Culbert is Clinical Professor and Director of the Center for Conflict Resolution at Loyola Law School. Among her many accomplishments are:

  • Founding Director of the Loyola Law School Disability Mediation Center of the Western Law Center for Disability Rights (currently the Disability Rights Legal Center).

  • Chair of the Ethics Subcommittee of the California State Bar ADR Committee since its inception in 1997 through September 2001, and celebrated 20 years as its advisor.

  • Appointed to the Judicial Council, Civil and Small Claims Advisory Committee, ADR Subcommittee. Working Group on Uniform Procedures for Addressing Complaints about Court-Program Mediators.

  • Recipient, 2009 Ester Soriano Peacemaker of the Year Award from Los Angeles County DRPA Program Community Mediators.

  • Recipient, 2010 Ester Soriano Award for Excellence in Community Mediation from the California Dispute Resolution Council.


Ms. Culbert received this award for her Exemplary Contributions to Mediator Education. 

Mary B. Culbert

2014-Barbara Brown

Barbara Brown was a member of the Founding Board of Directors of the SCMA Education Foundation and served as treasurer for six years. As a board member, she helped to establish the Foundation and raise funds to support the Woody Mosten Library project supporting mediation libraries in the Los Angeles area.

She has also made exemplary contributions to the Southern California Mediation Association as a board member, conference chair, and President in 2012. 

Ms. Brown received this award for Exemplary Contributions to Mediation.

Barbara Brown